School of Mines / Resource Centre
The southern portion of this building was erected as a Baptist Church in 1866. The adjacent residence is the original Baptist Manse.
The church was purchased by the government in 1891 and converted for use as a School of Mines, the first one outside of Adelaide.
The building now houses the Family History and Resource Centre. There are fascinating displays relating to Moonta's Mining Heritage and also a large display of medical and apothecary equipment and a vast array of information from bygone days.
Researchers can assist with family and local history. Extensive records on early history, shipping records, Births, Deaths & Marriages and newspaper records are available.
Enquires to Moonta Tourist Office (08) 8825 1891 or email the researchers directly at firstname.lastname@example.org